Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

Hell hath no fury like Haytor in the rain

Six Teignbridge Trotters took part in the club hosted Haytor Heller on Sunday. The 24th such event attracted 146 runners who battled through rain and high winds to complete the hilly off road course of approximately six miles. Starting just below Haytor Rock, the circular route via Hound Tor is mainly on open moorland and includes a stream crossing.

Leading the Royal Blues home in fine style was Dave Miller, in 4th place overall, with a time of 43:53. Dave unfortunately suffered a fall in the treacherous conditions and thereby lost vital seconds, which cost him 3rd place. 2nd Trotter to cross the line was Eyvol Aston in 1:01:04, 2nd F35 and 73rd overall. She was closely followed by Gia D`Aprano (1:01:10) in 75th position, winning the 2nd F50 award. The remaining runners were: Noel Fowler (1:01:36), Milos Erben (1:05:00) and Stephen Wallace (1:08:43).

Mike Hicks is standing down as Race Director, but it is hoped a replacement will be found in time for the 25th Anniversary race in 2010. Many thanks to Mike for such sterling service to the club.

Also on Sunday, Mark Wotton was unusually the sole representative at the Magnificent 7 in Saltash. Organised by the Tamar Trotters, the challenging seven mile on road event starts and finishes at the Rugby club. Mark posted a very respectable time of 53:48 and was 109th in a field of 364 finishers.

On Friday evening, Chudleigh saw a large Trotter contingent doing battle in the Carnival 6 road race - actually billed as 5 miles 944 yards! The fiercely undulating course and humid conditions pulled no punches for the 165 competitors, many of whom were regulars at the event.

First Trotter home was Dave Tomlin in 8th position, with an excellent time of 32:49. Second was Ian Langler, 20th overall, in 35:20. Chris Cleave, six seconds behind in 21st position, collected the 5th MV45 award. Other runners were: Mike Hicks (36:23 and 6th MV45), Mike Eveleigh 1st MV55 in a time of 37:25, Daryl Milford (37:30), Mark Becker (38:31), Roger Hales (39:04), Tim Theobold 4th MV50 in 40:07, James Henderson (40:34), John Caunter 4th MV55 in 40:55 and Clare Youngman (40:58).

Alan Boone, running his first race for the Teignbridge Trotters, finished in a fine time of 41:19 and in doing so, collected the 5th MV50 award. He was followed by Jim Donovan (43:18), Sharon Bowman (43:40), Pete Aston (44:10), Graham Penn (45:04). Anna Caunter improved dramatically on her previous time and set a personal best of 45:58. Tina Caunter (48:43), Jo Becker (51:44) and Buzz Terrill (who was 2nd MV65 in a time of 54:53) completed the successful Trotter line up.

On Saturday, Graham Penn travelled to the Isle of Purbeck in Dorset for the Swanage Half Marathon. The challenging route led the runners out towards Studland Bay, then through the picturesque village of Corfe Castle, where more hills awaited! The course was well marshalled, with more than sufficient water stations for the sunny and humid conditions, which were thankfully alleviated by a brisk breeze. Graham crossed the line in a provisional time of 1:54:43.

The Wellington 10 results from 12th July are now available. Mark Becker was 1st Trotter home in the 10 mile event, 36th overall in a field of 225 finishers, with a time of 1:12:45. He was followed by Tom Burman in 37th position (1:13:09), Eyvol Aston (1:18:45), Graeme Baker (1:21:56), Graham Penn (1:25:39), Steve Rawlinson (1:31:08), Kevin Besford (1:38:21), Jo Becker (1:39:56) and Steve Blackburn (1:42:46). Tracy and Nathan Elphick posted particularly good times in the 10k event: Tracy crossed the line in a time of 45:56 and was 5th lady home out of 281 finishers and 2nd FV35. Nathan set a new personal best 10k time with 48:34.

Photo`s from the Haytor Heller (Graham Penn)

Upper: Dave Miller

Centre: Eyvol Aston

Lower: Gia D`Aprano