Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

Trotters Cornish Invasion

Two coach loads of Teignbridge Trotters staged an invasion of the normally peaceful Cornish town of Launceston on Sunday, for the 4th running of the Treggy7. Admirably hosted by the Launceston Road Runners, the well marshalled course follows mainly rural lanes and contains several challenging hills.

It was a record breaking club trip for the Trotters, with 42 runners completing the seven mile race, in almost perfect running conditions, cheered on by accompanying supporters and friends. There were several impressive sprint finishes to be witnessed and four age category awards to take away.

Ronnie Jones was first across the line, 20th overall in a field of 358 finishers, with a time of 44:51. Not far behind was Adrian Bailey, 24th in 45:35, with Ian Langler 28th in another fine time of 45:56. Almost in his slipstream and only five seconds behind, was Ewan Walton.

Others flying the flag were: Mike Eveleigh, 2nd MV 55 in an enviable 47:39, Daryl Milford (48:28), Curtis Betteridge (48:56), Tom Burman (49:13), James Henderson (49:42), Wilf Taylor (50:06), Mark Becker (50:27), Roger Hayes (50:41), John Skinner, who despite a long absence from the racing scene, still proved he had the edge and posted a superb 50:43.

Stewart Dunn was also on good form with 51:05, followed by Gary Watson (51:41) and John Tweedie (51:42). Clare Youngman, still surprisingly agile after a 20 mile Marathon training run on Saturday, recorded a time of 52:09. Roger Hales was next in 52:44, and then John Caunter (53:15) and Mark Wotton (53:17). Adrian Youngman, also flying high after his previous day's Coast to Coast training, put in a very fine performance and crossed the line in 53:31.

The remaining runners were: Noel Fowler (53:46), Gia D`Aprano, 1st FV 50 (55:03), Graham Penn (55:25), Dave Dunn (55:27), Sue Brown (55:37), Graeme Baker 3rd MV 65 (56:09), Milos Erben (57:31), Bryan Hayes running his first race of the year, made a spirited finish in 57:41, Matthew Dunn (57:57), Jim Donovan (58:06), Steph Ross (59:23), Eleanor Taylor 2nd FV 50 (59:33) and Andy Ludlam (1:00:40).

Tina Caunter (1:04:36), Rod Payne (1:04:39), Kevin Besford (1:05:14), Caroline Hayes (1:06:00), Jan Caunter (1:06:24), Graham Terrill (1:07:24), Vicky Hales (1:14:24) and Steve Blackburn (1:17:24) completed the line up.

A one mile fun run was staged shortly before the main event and it attracted eight budding Trotters. Following in the family footsteps, Stan Hayes was 2nd Male, followed by Will Youngman (celebrating his 11th birthday), Arthur Moulson, Lilli Moulson, Zak Tweedie, Johnny Watson, Ellis Watson and Jess Wotton.

Further North, the two Steves: Rawlinson and Wallace attended the ever popular Bideford 10 mile race. Organised by Bideford AAC and with a record number of competitors this year, the relatively level course on roads and disused railway tracks, heads out towards Instow and Yelland, taking in part of the Tarka Trail and has spectacular views of the Rivers Torridge and Taw.

The mild and breezy conditions favoured the runners and Stephen Wallace crossed the line 128th out of 197 finishers, in a time of 1:26:43, followed by Steve Rawlinson, 136th in 1:28:07.

Also on Sunday, two Trotters attended the Bristol Half Marathon. The course starting at the historic Harbourside offers great potential for a fast time and takes runners through the scenic Avon Gorge and twice under Brunel`s Clifton Suspension Bridge. Mark Hamling finished 1.187th in a field of over 16,000 runners, with a time of 1:37:52. Helen O`Malley also ran a good race: 2,582nd in 1:46:34.

The previous Tuesday saw the conclusion of the Run Exe Summer 5k series in Exeter. John Caunter was 41st out of 70 runners, in a time of 21:43 and Tina Caunter 57th in 25:43. The overall series results placed Michelle Willocks-Watts 1st FV 35, John Caunter 3rd MV 55 and Syd Willocks 2nd MV 65.


Upper: Trotters before the start of the Treggy 7 (Roger Hayes)

Centre: Leading runners in the Fun Run (Graham Penn)

Lower: Eleanor Taylor receives the 2nd FV 50 award (Graham Penn)