Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

Trotters slide in mud of many colours

The Teignbridge Trotters were out in force again last Sunday, tackling a very challenging Bicton Blister. Organised by the Exmouth Harriers, the 11 mile mainly off road event started and finished this year at Bicton College. The recent heavy rain predictably left many muddy obstacles and water features to negotiate, as the 356 runners left the one mile road `intro` and entered Woodbury Common.

The mud splattered Trotters were led home, in 13th position, by Dave Tomlin, in an awe inspiring 1:08:16. Garry Smart was 21st in a time of 1:10:11, with Wavell Vigers 32nd and 1:11:35. They were followed by Daryl Milford (1:16:20), Ian Langler (1:17:04) and Tom Burman (1:18:59).

Stuart Moulson was on a high with his time of 1:21:41, which was a huge improvement on his 2008 result, although on a slightly altered course. Alan Boone, another strong runner, posted a creditable 1:23:08, with Adrian Youngman arriving at the finish in a well earned 1:25:01. Gary Caunter was next, in a group crossing the line at 1:25:05, with Howard Cotton close behind in 1:25:18.

Other runners were: Clare Youngman (1:26:02), Nathan Elphick (1:27:15), Mark Wotton (1:28:20) and a very determined Jim Donovan (1:30:29). Graeme Baker (1:31:30) won the well deserved 2nd MV65, with Syd Willocks (1:31:46) 3rd MV65. Graham Penn (1:36:38), Stephen Wallace (1:40:14), Sharon Bowman (1:43:40), Steve Rawlinson (1:44:39) and Rod Payne (1:50:13) completed the royal blue line up.

The previous Sunday, although a relatively quiet one for the club, provided ample variety. Stephen Wallace and Tony Stepney were running the Colyton Fiver in east Devon, a mainly flat two lap tour of country lanes.

Hosted by Axe Valley Runners in aid of `BBC Children in Need`, the five mile event was run in fine weather, after earlier heavy rain. Remnants of this and previous downpours resulted in flooding to a depth of eight inches, along a 200 yard stretch. Stephen passed the post in 41:35, 80th in a field of 171 finishers, with Tony 127th in a time of 49:05.

Meanwhile, Matthew Dunn was the lone Trotter at the John Cock Epsom 10 mile run in Surrey, organised by the Epsom and Ewell Harriers. The scenic circular route, starting and finishing at the famous racecourse on Epsom Downs, took the 235 competitors through Langley Vale, Headley, Walton on the Hill and Tadworth. Matthew crossed the line 116th, in a personal best time of 1:18:08.

Slightly nearer home, Dave Tomlin and Sharon Bowman were sampling the DB Max Chilly 10k at the Castle Coombe Circuit, near Chippenham in Wiltshire. The track event lived up to its name, with high winds and driving rain, but Dave was seemingly unaffected and finished 8th in an enviable 35:48. Sharon added 3rd FV40 to her trophy cabinet, with a time of 48:40.

Photo (Andy Penney):

Syd Willocks, Winner of 3rd MV65 award in Bicton (at an earlier event: Tavy 7)