Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

2014 Trotters annual awards and presentations....

The Teignbridge Trotters held their annual awards and presentation night at the Royal British Legion in Kingsteignton. Club Chairman, Roger Hayes, presided over the event, which brought together 120 of their members. Jose Waller, Club President, was invited up to the stage to present the prizes. Jose, although no longer running, has set many world records throughout her running career; one of which was the fastest marathon by a FV70. Jose crossed the line at the London Marathon at the tender age of 71 in an incredible time of 3hrs 49 minutes.

The fastest female in 2014 over the 10K, half marathon and marathon distance was Helen Anthony. This was the second year in succession that Helen swept the board. Her fastest 10K was at the Torbay 10K ~ 39:26. Half marathon was at Bideford ~ 1:29:08. Marathon was at London ~ 3:14:07.

The mens fastest 10K was won by Daryl ‘Tarquin” Milford, who recorded a time of 35:27 at the Exeter 10K. Daryl also won the fastest marathon time, finishing the London marathon in 2:50:30. Garry Smart won the fastest 1/2 marathon, recording a time of 1:19:24 at Bristol.

The Trotters age graded Club Championship saw a record number of members complete it this year. It’s a series of races held throughout the year over mixed terrain and distance. Runners finishing times are age graded, thus giving everyone a sporting chance. The maximum points that can be scored form 12 qualifying races is 600. Results for the Ladies competition are as follows; 1st, Jacki Woon 598 points, 2nd Mandy Wheeler (594), 3rd Helen Anthony (593), 4th Eyvoll Aston (590), 5th Lucy Payne (578), 6th Eleanor Taylor (570), 7th Sally Ingledew (569), 8th Tina Caunter (556), 9th Ruth Johnson (552), 10th Tamsin Cook (543).

The mens results are as follows; 1st Lance Mason (600), 2nd Roger Hayes (597), 3rd Daryl “Tarquin’ Milford (592), 4th Peter Kirby (580), 5th Geoff Davey (574), 6th Keith Anderson (569), 7th Mark Hutchins (562), 8th Gary Watson (559), 9th Pete Hayward (543), 10th John Tweedie (542).

The award for the Most Promising Female Newcomer went to Mandy Wheeler and Martin Randall won the Most Promising Male Newcomer. The Most Improved Female was won by Kirsty Bowman, whilst the Most Improved Male went to Nigel Barnett. The committee cup is awarded to a member for exceptional services to the club. This year Club Secretary, Mark Becker, was awarded the trophy. Mark has been secretary since being elected in 2007.

A new perpetual trophy was presented in memory of club member Dennis Milstead, who tragically died this year whilst out running with the Trotters. Guest of honour, Jacquie Milstead (Dennis’s wife), presented ‘Dennis’s Cup” to the Trotters 'Coach of the Year’ chosen by members via an on-line survey. The inaugural winner was Gary Watson.

During the Trotters 32-year existence they have awarded six members with life membership. That total was increased to eight as Dave Dunn and John Caunter were both honoured with the accolade during the presentations. Dave and John were presented with engraved decanters for their dedication to the club over a period of more than 20 years. Chairman, Roger Hayes, spoke of the wonderful work that both men had done for the Trotters and concluded his speech by declaring them 'True Trotter Legends’.

The final award of the night, the Horses’ Arse Trophy, was presented by John Skinner. Sharon ‘Fizz’ Bowman was this years winner. Having decided to take her own toaster (because no one makes toast like she does) to a hotel in Milton Keynes which she was staying in the night before running a marathon. Sharon proceeded to set the fire alarm off whilst making toast late at night. This resulted in the hotel being evacuated and the car park outside full of pyjama clad guests!

After a raffle and a buffet meal, the Trotters filled the dance floor and danced the night away (and there wasn’t a fireman to be seen!)

On On



Top, Jacki Woon ~ Ladies Club Champion
Middle, Dave Dunn & John Caunter ~ Life Members
Bottom, Gary Watson ~ The winner of Dennis's Cup