Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

Trotters stage another successful Haytor Heller..

Teignbridge Trotters staged another successful edition of the ever popular Haytor Heller on Saturday 19th July, which is a tough 6-mile race based near the landmark Haytor Rocks, on Dartmoor.  This was the 29th running of the event, which was again sold out and saw 264 runners complete the tough, off road course in great running conditions.  The 6.30pm race start had the moors bathed in the evening sun and the course takes runners through some truly stunning, unbroken scenery.

The men’s event was won by Jamie Parkinson of Pudsey and Bramley AC in a fabulous time of 39:44, which is an average of 6:37 min/mile. Jamie won this event last year as well, so obviously relishes the challenges that the course has to offer as he shaved 14 seconds off of his time from last year.  John Nolan (unattached) was second in 43:11 and Neil Holmes (Erme Valley Harriers) was third in 43:32.

In a hotly contested battle for the women’s places, the winner was FV55 Bonny Collingborn (South West Vets) in a stunning time of 55:00 (38th overall).  Second home was Klara Kjellgren (unattached) in 55:02 (39th) and third was Jane Allison in 55:07 (40th) of Mud Crew Trail Runners.

Exmouth Harriers had a strong line up as they won both the men’s and women’s team prizes, with 4 competitors required from each club to make up a team.  Adam Miller (9, 46:40), Hugh Marsden (15, 49:26), Jon Garrity (18, 50:18) and Scott Jordan (37, 54:59) won the men’s team prize whilst Jane Macdonald (82nd overall, 1:00:43), Cathy Newman (84, 1:01:18), Lorraine Gibson (107, 1:03:53) and Dawn Teed (146, 1:07:50) picked up the women’s prize.

Many Trotters were involved in marshalling, race set up, catering and other duties and the event went off without a hitch with many runners praising the organisation of one of the club’s key events.  Those Trotters who did run had the following results:
Mark Hutchins (34, 54:08), Craig Hobson (151, 1:08:12), Jessica Parkes (158, 1:08:38), David Taylor (174, 1:10:03), Derek Blackford (197, 1:13:24, Derek Skinner (1:16:13) and Julie Webb (1:33:15).

Teignbridge Trotters would like to say a special thanks to Buzz Terrill, as he was Race Director for the Haytor Heller again this year. This was Buzz’s 5th year at the helm but he will be standing down this year.  Buzz’s wife, Jean, has also been a great help over the years so thanks to both of them for all their support.


Top:  The men's winner - Jamie Parkinson (picture by Nigel Penwarden).

Middle:  The women's winner - Bonny Collingborn (picture by Nigel Penwarden).

Bottom:  Runners approaching Haytor (picture by Jennie Roberts).

Report by Graydon Widdicombe