Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

Erme Valley Virtual Relays a resounding success

The first Erme Valley Harriers Virtual Relays were held over the weekend of Friday 3rd – Sunday 5th July. All runners from each competing were tasked with completing a 5km leg, before submitting their times.

Lucy Evans & Andrew Fox, Teignbridge’s ladies and men’s captains, took it upon themselves to formulate teams in the set age categories on offer. Lucy entered an impressive 6 female teams and ‘Foxey’ on his captaincy debut, fielded 4 men’s teams.

In the lead up to the weekend, there was some great banter on the face book page which helped generate great enthusiasm amongst the team members. 

The honours went to the ladies FV35 team, winning the category in a combined time of 1:24:51.

Teignbridge Trotters 2 FV35 (27TH) – Helen Anthony 20:41, Mandy Wheeler 20:50, Lou Gentry 21:00, Jackie Woon 22:20

Teignbridge Trotters 1 Seniors (34TH) – Molly Canham 18:19, Kim Knight 23:36, Kirsty Bowman 25:28, Corine Bright 25:49

Teignbridge Trotters 6 FV45 (53rd) – Deborah Hart 24:35, Sharon Sharples 25:17, Clare Youngman 26:34, Eleanor Taylor 32:34

Teignbridge Trotters 5 Seniors (54th) – Sue Tremlett 25:12, Laura Law 26:24, Lucy Evans 28:45, Marie Farrelly 29:26

Teignbridge Trotters 4 FV35 (57TH) – Sarah Burningham 24:53, Claire Ayling 25:24, Jo Baird 30:41, Suzie Mills 31:55

Teignbridge Trotters 3 FV45 (58TH) – Wendy Goldthorp 24:44, Caroline Clarke 26:16, Alison Clayton 31:17, Kay Shilabeer 32:01

mandy and the girls.jpeg The winning ladies FV35 team
gary and roger.jpeg Gary Smart and Roger Easterbrook looking pleased with their 5K times

The highest ranked men’s Trotter team finished tied for 19th. Their combined time was 1:21:46.

Teignbridge Trotters 4 Seniors (19th=) – Roger Easterbrook 18:32, Gary Smart 19:01, Joe Hornsby 19:27, Travis Robinson 24:46.

Teignbridge Trotters 1 MV40 (28TH) – Duncan Knight 20:27, Andrew Fox 20:31, Gavin Parrott 22:28, Christian Robinson 22:29

Teignbridge Trotters 2 MV40 (29TH) – Graydon Widdicombe 20:00, Jason Trevenen 21:17, Alex Lyons 22:32, Gary Brooking 22:43

Teignbridge Trotters 3 MV50 (46TH) – Alan Kember 22:16, Wilf Taylor 24:59, Dermot Smyth 25:36, Gary Caunter 26:39

joe.jpeg Joe Hornsby refuelling
dermot.jpeg Dermot opts for the hillier 5K route
gary brooking.jpeg Gary Brooking gives the thumbs up after his 5K blast

The ladies fastest 5K was Molly Shorey, clocking a great time of 17:33 & Tom Merson posted a staggering time of 14:12 to win the men’s competition.

62 teams in total took part in a very successful competition, with some very good performances. Exmouth Harriers ‘A’ won the overall event in a combined time of 1:03:04.

Well done to all our Club runners, who gave their all in difficult circumstances. Trying to achieve PB’s in a non-race situation is mentally tough and a lot of grit and determination is required.

Thanks again to Lucy and Foxey for taking time to organise the teams and process the results.

Let’s hope we are back at Ivybridge for a ‘real’ relay event n 2021!!