Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

Jamie Barnett breaks junior marathon club record and Tim Pratt wins for second successive year at the Dartmoor Vale Half Marathon.

On Sunday 28th October, Jamie Barnett competed in the Mainova Frankfurt Marathon. This was the 37th running of what is Germany’s oldest city marathon and is an IAAF gold label race. 13,934 runners took part in the full marathon, but over 26,000 of all ages ran in the minor races culminating in the main event. In cool and blustery conditions the field set off on their way around the historic city.  

The winner was Kelkile Woldargaey from Ethiopia in a new course record, that stood back in 2012, in a time of 2:06:37. Jamie finished in 240th place in a great time of 2:40:24. This mean't Jamie broke his own junior club record set at the Dartmoor Vale in 2017 by 24 seconds. Jamie’s splits were: 5k - 17:29, 10k - 35:13, half 1:14:18. An outstanding performance from Jamie and more big race experience under his belt.


Sunday was also the 14th running of the Sibelco Dartmoor Vale races which included the marathon, half marathon and 10K. The start and finish took part at East Gold Works where a sizeable crowd watched the runners set off. The marathon and half marathon route took runners out to Chudleigh and then back along country lanes alongside Ugbrooke Park. The marathon runners completed this loop twice. With over 1600 feet of elevation for the longer distance, the race always provides a tough challenge. Weather conditions were far from ideal, with a biting cold wind to deal with.

MARATHON RESULTS: First home was Joss Williams representing Riverside Runners in a great time of 2:48:39. Roger Hayes was first Trotter home, finishing in 6th place in 3:14:14. Roger also won the M50 category award. Other Trotters positions and times: Allen Taylor (21, 3:35:30), Graydon Widdicombe (29, 3:47:01), Paul Sharples (42, 3:57:04), which gained Paul 1st place in the M60 category. Roger Hales (51, 4:10:43), Chris McIntosh (56, 4:21:12) and also 2nd in the M60 category. Paul Dainton (86, 5:48:43). Great running from all our runners.

me1.jpg Chair on his way to a sub 3:15
c mc.jpg Chris McIntosh (Templer Ten RD) 2nd MV60
sharpie.jpg Thumbs up from Paul Sharples ~ 1st MV60
paul d.jpg Paul Dainton completes his 2nd marathon

HALF MARATHON RESULTS: Our very own Tim Pratt regained his half marathon title heading the 159 strong field in a great time of 1:17:32. A brilliant effort. Gary Smart also finished in a superb 6th place clocking a time of 1:22:24. Gary picked up the M50 category with that performance. All our club runners ran really well and picked up lots of silverware along the way. 

Positions and times of all our other runners: Christian Robinson (12, 1:31:49) and a new PB, Mandy Wheeler (13, 1:32:33), Julian Skanes (14, 1:32:58), Martin Randall (19, 1:36:13), Robert Cooper (20, 1:36:15), Stephen Barker (29, 1:39:13), Jacki Woon (30, 1:40:14), Travis Wood (41, 1:42:01), Sarah Pike (50, 1:44:15), Paul Dean (54, 1:46:05), Joshua Taylor (58, 1:46:10), Jason Trevenen (60, 1:47:01), Neil Rutley (68, 1:49:42), Bob Small (72, 1:51:23), Max Conroy (89, 1:55:40), Neil Pallant (92, 1:56:18), Lucy Evans (93, 1:56:19), Eleanor Taylor (105, 1:59:56), Eamon Crowe (108, 02:00:53), Richard Keatley (119, 02:04:03), Caroline Clark (120, 02:4:17), Susanne Westgate (125, 02:06:04), Rod Payne (126, 02:06:09), Lucy Payne (127, 02:06:09), Katey Blackmore (131, 02:08:03) and Teresa Holmes (155, 02:31:53). 

Another great run from Many Wheeler who was 3rd female across the line and also 1st in F45 category. Jacki Woon yet again won the F55 prize, Sarah Pike added to her collection of prizes by finishing 2nd in the F40 and huge congratulations to Lucy Payne who on her come back from injury finished 2nd in the F60 competition. 

As for the men, it was great to see Julian Skanes running so well and being rewarded by finishing 2nd in the M45 category. Bob Small ran superbly to win the M70 category. 

jules.jpg Julian Scanes 'back on it' after a long term injury
rod.jpg Mr & Mrs Payne enjoying their race
caroline.jpg A small posse of Trottettes reaching the top of the hill
chris.jpg Chris Robinson setting a new PB

10K RESULTS: 167 runners took part. Peter Monaghan from Torbay AAC won the event in a great time of 34:30. The first Trotter home was Richard Jellyman finishing in 5th position, in a great time of 37:16. Other finishing positions and times for Teignbridge: Ewan Walton (8, 38:14), Melanie Dunn (19, 44:06), Gavin Parrott (33,47:20), Kathryn Steemson (38, 48:31), Scott Knight (48, 50:17), Dave McMorrow (52, 51:47), Mark Wotton (79, 55:46), Sharon Sharples (99, 58:33), Jennie Roberts (100, 58:36), Ling Shom (106, 59:08), Graeme Baker (110, 59:30), Zilpath Walton (144, 1:06:05). 

This race also provided some of our Trotters silverware. Melanie Dunn was 2nd in the female senior category, Kathryn Steemson was 2nd in the F45 category and Graeme Baker won the M70 competition. All in all a very successful set of results, which is all due to the dedication of each Trotter and also the coaching that is provided.

The races were again very well organised, and many of the runners commented on how supportive the marshals were around the course. Many of the runners run for charity, with the funds being distributed amongst chosen charities around the area. Sibelco have pledged their support for the coming years which is great news.

A special mention for Richard Keatley who ran a marathon on Thursday in Milton Keynes along side a friend who was completing his 100th marathon!! The race took place at Caldecotte lake in warm sunny conditions. Richard completed the 7 lap course in 4:54:00. This race was Richard's 3rd marathon, 3 years ago, and his total is now 105!! What an achievement.   

zilpa.jpg Zilpah Walton wearing Trotters colours for the first time
richie.jpg Richard Jellyman 5th in the 10K
ewan.jpg Ewan Walton battling hard
mel.jpg Mel Dunn 2nd senior lady

Thank you Suzie Mills and Louise Stokes for some fantastic photos.