Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

The 21st running of The Totnes 10K hosted by the Teignbridge Trotters Running Club was held on Sunday 1st August 2021, an event, which supports Totnes Caring, a local charity. This favourite South West Devon summer race is growing in popularity, and attracts runners from all over county and visitors to the region. This year’s event was sold out well before race day with 543 entrants.

Roger Easterbrook handed over the reins to the new Race Director, Bob Small, who was guided by Ruth Johnson, Assistant RD. They both worked extremely hard behind the scenes to ensure that all the arrangements and equipment were in place on the day. Alan Boone, Chief Marshal, was ably assisted by his large crew of friendly and supportive marshals. John Skinner did the race commentary and kept the spectators highly amused as ever.

fun run start.jpg Mass start of the Totnes Fun run

The mostly flat off-road course starts at Borough Park, ideally situated close to the Totnes Leisure Centre, follows the meandering River Dart through the Dartington Estate. Bob would like to thank Dartington Estate for allowing us to run on their wonderful grounds again, which has helped raise a substantial amount for Totnes Caring. £22,000 has been raised for the charity since the inaugural event in 2000, which helps the elderly and disadvantaged people living in the area. The Trotters are proud to be able to help with such a worthwhile cause.

The weather conditions were dry but humid, for the runners and spectators alike. The underfoot conditions for the 10K was generally good with a few stretches of sloppy mud to negotiate. The atmosphere was terrific as the one mile Fun Run got under way. The 129 runners of all ages set off around Borough Park, some with their mums and dads in close attendance. The race was won by Freddie Stoppard (MU16) in a great time of 0:5:18. First girl home was Beth Blackmore (FU14) representing Teignbridge Trotters in a very respectable time of 0:5:49.

Harry Ayling, also representing the Trotters, was the youngest highest finisher (MU10) clocking a great time of 0:5:55 to finish in 7th place.

To see so many youngsters just having fun was lovely, as one spectator commented. There were various age category prizes awarded and a bespoke medal for all finishers.

The main event was won by Phil Wylie, representing Western Tempo in a great time of 00:36:06. Runner up was Jamie Barnett (Teignbridge Trotters) posting a very respectable time of 00:37:31. To complete the podium was Lee Turner (Torbay Tri Club) finishing in 00:38:49.

The ladies race was won by Amy Jones representing South West Road Runners, winning in a time of 00:43:52.

The Ladies team prize was won by SWRR and the Men’s team prize went to Torbay Tri Club. Teignbridge ran well as a team to take 3rd place.  

totnes 10k winner phil wylie.jpg Phil Wylie wins the Totnes 10K
2nd jamie barnett.jpg 2nd place went to our own Jamie Barnett
3rd lee turner.jpg Lee Turner representing Torbay Tri Club takes 3rd
ist lady amy jones.jpg 1st female finisher, Amy Jones
2nd lady fiona german.jpg Fiona German finishes in runners up spot
3rd lady elizabeth dyson.jpg Elizabeth Dyson completes female podium finish

All the runners from the host club ran well. Here are their positions & times:

Roger Easterbrook (10, 00:40:38), Mikey Johnson (28,00:44:08), Chris Broadbent (46, 00:46:12), Duncan Knight (65, 00:48:11), Jason Trevenen (70, 00:48:50), Scott Wiggins (78, 00:49:28), John Holland (108, 00:51:24), Philip Norden (176, 00:56:00), Max Conroy (179, 00:56:12), Steven Major (184, 00:56:24), Eamon Crowe (212, 00:57:53), Deb Hart (252, 01:00:38), Paul Johns (262, 01:01:04), Chris Andrews (266, 01:01:12), Julia Street (270, 01:01:28), Sonia Hughes (305, 01:04:03), Scott Knight (317, 01:04:51), Rebecca Hext (386, 01:09:47), Megan Morgan (414, 01:12:11), Andy Distin (457, 01:16:03), Zilpath Walton (480, 01:19:30), Teresa Holmes (487, 01:20:04), Stewart Cook (506, 01:22:48). There were 543 finishers.

A special mention must go to Kim Knight who has battled her way back from a serious health complaint. Kim was the Clubs first female home clocking a superb time of 00:59:57 to pip Deb Hart.

eamon crowe.jpg Eamon Crowe looking comfortable
philip norden.jpg Philip Norden completes Totnes 10k in a super time
chris broadbent.jpg Chris Broadbent with a driving finish
duncan knight.jpg Duncan Knight clocks an impressive time
kim knight.jpg Kim Knight, first female Trotter home
deb hart.jpg Deb Hart grimaces as she approaches the line
julia street.jpg Julia Street, 3rd lady Trotter home
116 female.jpg Sonia Hughes has time for a smile as the line approaches
trooters line up at totnes 10k.jpg Trotters line up at Totnes 10K
beth and joe totnes fun run.jpeg Beth Blackmore and bro after Totnes Fun Run

On Friday 30th July, the first of three time trials took place around The Sandygate Loop, which also counted towards the Club Championship.

The four mile course started and finished at the Sandygate Inn, in Kingsteignton, and followed quiet country lanes on a circular loop. It’s a stiff challenge, climbing up for the best part of two miles, before the steady drop down to the finish.

On a warm sultry evening, eight Trotters took up the challenge.

The fastest time recorded was set by Roger Easterbrook recording an impressive time of 00:24:18. Ian Langler took second place in a time of 00:25:11.

The other times were:

Graydon Widdicombe (3,00:26:42), Gavin Parrot (4, 00:29:08), Neil Rutley (5, 00:30:42),Bob Small (6, 00:30:43), Craig Churchill (7, 00:36:11), Stuart Moulson (8, 00:37:12)

roger sandy.jpg Roger Easterbrook, in fine form at Sandygate time trial
graydon sandygate.jpg Graydon clocks 3rd fastest time on the night
neil sandy.jpg Neil Rutley shows great style at Sandygate
back up crew totnes.jpg Back up crew at Totnes 10K