Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

Stoke Stampede and Plympton January Jaunt test early season form

january jaunt group photo.jpg Trotters all smiles before January Jaunt

On Sunday 6th January, the Plympton January Jaunt was organised by The Plympton Round Table. The event is a very popular race for local runners and was a sell-out months ago.

The early start meant that the weather conditions were cool with little or no wind. Perfect for racing.

A select band of Trotters travelled down to Plymouth. Jon Lucas was making his comeback on the race scene, having returned to running after a long layoff. Mark Wotton clocked up his 100th 10k. A great achievement.

The start and finish was at the speedway track entrance, and the course took the runners into the grounds of Saltram House. A lovely out and back undulating route, but at the 2 mile point the runners had to negotiate a long steep hill taking them up to Stag Lodge. The turnaround point was at the top of the hill.

Kevin Woodard representing Torbay Tri Club won the event in a rapid time of 35:22.

Kim Nichols ran really well to be the first Trotter home. Kim clocked a time of 54:29 to finish in 177th position. The other Trotter's position and times were: Mark Wotton (187, 55:00), Sue Brown (195, 55:20), Jon Lucas (293, 1:1:21), Andy Distin (315, 1:03:09), Suzie Mills (322,

There were 436 finishers. 

stoke stampede 10k group.jpg Stoke Stampede famous five

Also on Sunday, The Stoke Stampede 10K took place. The race started at 11:00 a.m and took the 450runners through the friendly village of Stoke St Gregory. A figure of 8 course over undulating terrain tested beginners and the more experienced runner. The runners were encouraged along the route, especially in the picturesque village square which they passed twice before returning to the finish.

First place went to Ian Tyson representing Torbay Tri Club, crossing the line in 34:41. First female was Hannah Taunton, finishing 6th overall in a great time of 36:22.

Lance Mason was the first Trotter home finishing in 26th place with a superb time of 40:59, which also meant he was 2nd overall in the Super Vet category. A great start to the New Year.

The other Trotter's positions and times: Emma Donovan (152, 52:44), Katey Blackmore (200, 55:41), Lucy Evans (201, 55:43), Sally Ingledew (250, 59:05).

Well done to Sally as this was her first 10k race for quite a while, having concentrated on the longer distance events in 2018.

There were 389 finishers. 

On 5th January 2019, the first Saturday of the New Year, many Trotters took the opportunity to clear the cobwebs and stretch their legs at the various Park runs within the local area. Here are the results starting with Parke parkrun.

Tim Pratt stated his intent for 2019 by winning the race in a time of 18:41. Other Trotters positions and times: Ewan Walton (4, 20:04), Tilly Woods (17, 22:54), Richard Gentry (30, 24:10), Thomas Mactaggart (32, 24:29), Geoff Woods (39, 25:07), Joanna Randall (60, 26:38), Kathryn Steemson (76, 28:28), Andrew Watson (100, 31:19), Richard Keatley (101, 31:19), Gavin Forbes (121, 34:04), Teresa Holmes (131, 35:28), Maggie Anderson (132, 35:46).
There were 164 runners.

At the Torbay Velopark the club had two runners compete. Graydon Widdicombe finished 79th in a time of 25:37, and Ruth Johnson ran well to finish in 128th place in a time of 27:42. The race was won by Shaun McKernan in a fast time of 18:04. A good turnout of 295 runners this week.

At Teignmouth Promenade parkrun, 12 hardy Trotters took part on what was a very cold, grey morning. Race winner was Darren Francis (Torbay Tri), in a time of 18:41. First Trotter home was the ever green Paul Sharples. Paul finished 19th in a very respectable time of 23:07. Other Trotters position's and times: David Bowen (20, 23:12), John Crocker (25, 23:28), Gary Brooking (27, 23:33), Ann Donnelly (27:02), Eamon Crowe (82, 28:38), Jennie Roberts (97, 30:07), Claire Ayling (112, 31:07), Corinne Bright (132, 33:32), Julie Crocker (145, 34:34), Lewis Collman (165, 40:36), Kay Shillabeer (173, 43:53). There were 176 finishers.

Well done to all who took part. Some vital endurance and speed work after the Christmas and New year festivities.