Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

Trotters travel for the last Championship race of the year, and Allen Taylor takes on a tough marathon and finishes high up the field

Several Teignbridge Trotters took part in the last Club Championship race of the year – The Wellington Monument, organised by Taunton AC.

In its 30th year, this tough race is approximately 10K, and essentially takes runners up a steep hill for 5K and then back down 5K to the finish. Trotters results were: Jamie Barnett (3, 33:54, 2nd MU20), Duncan Knight (53, 43:43, 3rd MV45), Craig Churchill (88, 47:43), Nigel Barnett (113, 49:37), Pete Hayward (121, 50:21), Kathryn Steemson (124, 50:28, 2nd LV45), Eamon Crowe (182, 56:22), Tina Caunter (210, 59:48) and Suzie Mills (245, 67:25). There were 256 finishers of the race.


On Saturday 16th December Allen Taylor ran the Bovington Marathon organised by Whitestar Running.

The race started and finished at Bovington Tank Museum in Dorset. It was a new course this year measuring 27.5 miles around the tank training tracks. Allen said it was one of his toughest most technical marathons due to the underfoot conditions with river crossings, mud and ice.

The weather was zero degrees but crisp blue sky. Allen finished in 6th place out of 512 finishers in 3.54.05.


wellington start.jpg Start of the Wellington Monument race
allen taylor.jpg Allen Taylor