Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

Jacki Woon achieves a new club record at Yeovil Marathon

yeovil marathon 2018.jpg Mandy Wheeler, Graydon Widdicombe & Jacki Woon celebrate after the Yeovil Marathon
jacki woon yeovil 2018.jpg Jacki Woon wins 1st V55 at Yeovil Marathon

On Sunday 10th June three Trotters headed to Yeovil to compete in the charity road race.
Mandy Wheeler, Graydon Widdicombe and Jacki Woon ran the two lapped event on the predominately country road route - a fairly flat route with not much traffic on the roads. Sadly there was little support along the way except for the fantastic marshals who gave welcomed encouragement. The conditions were warm and cloudy so not bad running conditions. The event had a lovely relaxed atmosphere and a fairly small field.

All three Trotters ran exceptionally well - with Mandy Wheeler being the first Trotter home in 3:28:06, closely followed by Jacki Woon. This was Jacki's first marathon in 4 years and she walked away with first prize in her age category and smashed the Teignbridge Trotters club record by 25 minutes!!
Graydon - having only completed the 34 mile Dartmoor Discovery last weekend - brought the trio home in 4:18:06.

Full results: Mandy Wheeler 3:28:01 (41st), Jacki Woon 3:35:28 (53rd & 1st V55) and Graydon Widdicombe 4:18:06 (120th)


Paul Sharples Snr completed the Classic Quarter which takes runners along the Cornish section of the South West Coast Path - from Lizard Point to Lands End.
This is the third consecutive year Sharples has completed this event back to back with the Dartmoor Discovery. 46 miles consists of innumerable steep climbs and descents and isn't for the faint hearted - the task is to run non-stop from the southernmost point of England to the Western most tip along brutal terrain only a stone's throw away from the smashing waves. This year the conditions were described as tough and incredibly hot - not helped with a 2 mile inland diversion - despite this, Paul still achieved a first place win for his age category finishing in 12:01:44 - placing him 88th out of 136 other solo runners.


Four Trotters completed the Coleton Footacher 10k on Saturday 9th June.
The event presents a very tough route along the South West Coast Path that was made even tougher with the very warm weather - however the spectacular views and beautiful evening did make the gruelling terrain and over 1000 ft if elevation bearable!
The event has been described as lovely and very well organised with the added bonus of a Cream Tea at the end!

Full Results - James Saunders 00:59:37 (17th and 1st MV55), Claire Mills 01:12:26 (42nd), Susanne Westgate 01:22:37 (63rd) and Julie Webb 01:32:34 (76th)


paul sharples snr minack.jpg Paul Sharples grabbing a quick pic at the Minack Theatre
paul sharples snr lands end 2018.jpg Paul Sharples Snr finishes the Classic Quarter!

On Thursday 7th June, 33 Teignbridge Trotters took part in The Dawlish Dash - wonderfully organised by the Dawlish Coasters. The 4 mile race is run on parts of the coast path and the beautiful beaches at Dawlish Warren. This is a popular race with the Trotters - attendance this year was particularly high as it is also a championship race for the Club. 

Full Results - Tim Pratt 00:21:59 (3rd), Jamie Barnett 00:22:23 (4th), Geoff Davey 00:23:30 (8th), Ewan Walton 00:23:40 (9th), Garry Smart 00:23:49 (11th), Christian Robinson 00:25:27 (16th), Sam Crowe 00:25:34 (17th), Garrie Edwards 00:27:04 (21st), Jacki Woon 00:28:00 (25th), Derek Skinner 00:28:10 (27th), Hannah Jones 00:29:17 (37th), Sarah Pike 00:29:37 (41st), Neil Rutley 00:29:37 (42nd), Jo Randall 00:30:03 (45th), Kathryn Steemson 00:30:17 (47th), Jim Donovan 00:30:21 (48th), Roger Hales 00:30:35 (51st), Nigel Barnett 00:30:41 (52nd), David Bowen 00:30:56 (58th), Tom MacTaggard 00:31:05 (60th), David Taylor 00:34:02 (77th), Lucy Evans 00:34:14 (81st), Dave McMorrow 00:35:28 (95th), Ruth Johnson 00:35:31 (96th), Gary Watson 00:35:52 (99th), Sue Tremlett 00:36:00 (100th), Sharon Sharples 00:37:51 (112th), Graeme Baker 00:38:31 (116th), Sharon Still 00:38:56 (118th), Alison Prior 00:42:07 (141st), Rosey Oakes 00:42:13 (142nd), Meg Wotton 00:47:47 (162nd) and Mark Wotton 00:47:48 (163rd).

dawlish dash 2018.jpg Dawlish Dash 2018