Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

Trotters hog the limelight

On Wednesday evening, in almost perfect conditions, eleven Teignbridge Trotters flew the flag in magnificent style at the Devon County AA 10,000m championship in the Exeter Arena. The 10k with a difference meant 25 laps of the track, but a lack of any wind resistance was a good omen for the runners, with several personal best times emerging and an armful of awards for the dedicated band.

In Race 1, first Trotter Ian Langler shone in 8th place, with a time of 38:01 - his best for several years and a full minute faster than the recent result at the Torbay Royal Regatta 10k. Second Trotter in 9th overall position was Adrian Bailey in an equally rapid 38:49, followed by Mike Hill, 14th in 41:15 (Silver MV 40) and Gary Watson 15th in a superb showing of 42:44 (Gold MV 50).

Race 2 held even more suspense as Tom Burman roared ahead, closing a 26 second gap to the leader, in just under three laps. He posted a magnificent 40:57 and gained a personal best 10k time, in addition to Gold. Mark Wotton took 7th overall position in a time of 43:10, to claim Bronze MV 45 and another personal best.

There was nothing stopping the Trotters now as Matthew Dunn earned a PB and Gold Male U 20, romping home in 8th position with a time of 43:22. John Caunter in 10th position (45:37) was followed by Dave Dunn, 11th overall in 46:24. Steve Rawlinson also joined the medal winners with a well earned Bronze MV 50, 15th in 51:42, shortly to be followed by Tina Caunter, clutching Silver (FV 50), in 16th position and a time of 52:09.

The much travelled Mark Wotton was up to his old tricks on Saturday, as he took up the challenge of the Great Wishford 10k in Wiltshire. The mixed terrain course, hilly in places, was run in quite warm conditions. Mark however was untroubled and crossed the line 13th in a field of 80 finishers with a time of 49:47.

Sunday saw thirteen Trotters embarking on the Ivybridge Beacon Challenge. The 7.5+ mile event organised by the Erme Valley Harriers, starts and finishes in Victoria Park and supports the Dame Hannah Rogers Trust, which `provides education, therapy, care and respite for children and young people with profound physical disabilities`.

Dave Tomlin led the Royal Blues along the woodland and Moorland paths, apparently unaffected by the hot weather and crossed the line 11th overall in a field of 137 finishers, with an enviable 57:46. Chris Cleave followed in 16th position (1:00:09), with Tom Burman 33rd and 1:05:50.

Other runners were: Mark Wotton (1:11:50), Matthew Dunn (1:12:06), Syd Willocks (1:12:22), Gia D`Aprano, 3rd Female (1:14:41), Milos Erben (1:17:35), Gary Watson (1:18:28), Sharon Bowman, who scooped 1st FV 40 (1:19:32), Steve Rawlinson (1:21:04), Amanda Milverton (1:31:05), Marion Witham (1:37:49) and continuing the club`s run of success, Gia and Sharon took the 1st Female team award.