Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

Axmouth Challenge and January Jaunt kick off 2018's Club Championship

Teignbridge Trotters’ Club Championship for 2018 kicked off on Sunday 7th January at January Jaunt and the following week at Axmouth Challenge. The format of the championship has changed for 2018, which will result in even more competition throughout the year.

On 14th January, a large team of Trotters travelled to the Axmouth Challenge event to take part in the 10-mile race option, and there were some great performance from the club. Organised by Axe Valley Runners, the race started with a tough climb and was a mixed terrain course and very muddy in places from the recent rain. However, it was a lovely testing course and well marshalled with a very friendly atmosphere. The weather was favourable, and although cold there was no ice or strong head winds and it did stay dry.

Trotters results were:

Geoff Davey (2, 1:01:32), Mandy Wheeler (14, 1:10:18), Christian Robinson (19, 1:12:06), Gavin Parrott (23, 1:14:29), Jacki Woon (27, 1:15:19), Nigel Barnett (36, 1:18:23), Paul Sharples (37, 1:18:26), Sarah Pike (40, 1:19:52), Joanna Randall (51, 1:21:48), Jim Donovan (65, 1:25:47), Dermot Smyth (66, 1:26:08), Lucy Evans (70, 1:27:12), Ruth Johnson (78, 1:31:44), Graeme Baker (86, 1:37:53), Sharon Sharples (94, 1:50:52). There were 98 finishers.


On 7th January at January Jaunt 10K in Plympton, with money raised going to the local Rotary Club, where conditions were sunny but freezing cold. The course was a nice route along the river's edge, with a challenging uphill in the middle and then a great downhill to recover some breath!

Trotters results were:

Geoff Davey (5, 38:27), Garry Smart (6, 38:31), Duncan Knight (24, 42:47), Jason Lewis (76, 49:06), Kim Knight (81, 49:22), Ruth Johnson (168, 55:31), Louise Stokes (379, 77:56). There were 400 finishers. 

axmouth.jpg Trotters at Axmouth Challenge