Teignbridge Trotters Running Club
Newton Abbot, Devon
Established 1982
Born to Run

Adam Holland wins the 2017 DD

Newton Abbot, 4 June 2017 – 100 Marathon Club runner Adam Holland has won this year’s Dartmoor Discovery ultramarathon. Adam covered the 32 gruelling miles in 3:44:22, while Lynette Porter from Bitton Road Runners won the ladies’ race in 4:15:28.

It was the 19th Dartmoor Discovery, or DD as it is affectionately known, and participants began the race in superb running conditions as they headed out of Princetown at 9:30am on Saturday 3 June. The skies were clear, the sun was shining and a cool breeze gave little indication of what was to come.

Adam Holland, who chose the DD as his 300th marathon, set off at an electric pace and soon built up a substantial lead over the chasing pack. Passing through the 10K point in 36 minutes and the half marathon in 76 minutes, it looked likely that Holland was going to beat the course record of 3:29:24, set by John Ward. All that changed when the weather took a turn for the worse, as it can so often do on Dartmoor. Torrential rain and a sudden drop in temperature made for a completely different race. Holland's pace slowed and with it went the chance of breaking the record set in 2014. Holland was nevertheless delighted with his win and held aloft a Devon flag as he crossed the finish line. Kieron Summers, of Weston AC, was second overall, in 3:54:41. Teignbridge Trotter athlete Ben Mukherjee came third, crossing the line in 3:56:53.

Meanwhile in the ladies’ race, Porter, who was completing in her first DD, broke the FV50 vet course record by over 16 minutes. This was the only course record broken in 2017, which just shows what a superb time Porter ran, in what were very testing conditions during the latter part of the race. Isobel Wykes of the Mud Crew Trail Runners, a previous DD winner, came second, in a time of 4:30:14. Rachel Langdon-Tait finished third in 4:45:56.

The DD is the UK’s longest single-lap road ultramarathon and is organised by leading South West running club the Teignbridge Trotters. Club Chairman and Race Director Roger Hayes said, “Today we saw what Dartmoor can throw at you. Conditions were the worst we have experienced since we started staging the race seven years ago. Just to finish today was an achievement in itself.”

Presenting the prizes was Roger’s grandfather, Verdun Hayes. Verdun recently became the oldest person in the world to do a tandem skydive at the age of 101. The story received worldwide media attention and the biggest cheer of the day was for Verdun when he was introduced to the large crowd that had gathered for the presentations.

The DD’s team competition is always a hard-fought affair and this year was no exception. The winning men’s team were the Teignbridge Trotters, retaining the trophy they won last year and winning it for an incredible eighth time. Ben Mukherjee, Garry Smart (4:10:19) and Allen Taylor (4:36:04) made up the winning trio. Not to be outdone, the Mud Crew ladies of Isobel Wykes, Diane Roy (4:51:50) and Rachel Tuck (5:27:03) retained the ladies’ team trophy.

Saturday’s race created a special bit of history, as four runners each achieved different milestones. Lance Mason (5:05:12) of the Teignbridge Trotters, completed his 100th marathon. His partner, Sally Ingledew (6:02:09), also from the Teignbridge Trotters, completed her 200th marathon. Adam Holland completed his 300th and Andrew Bickle added to the amazing occasion by completing his 400th marathon. This was the first time that four such milestones have been achieved in the same race.

Sally Ingledew said, “It was such a special day to be part of something unique like that and to do it at the DD, a race I love, was the icing on the cake.”

The Teignbridge Trotters picked up more silverware in the age categories. Ben Mukerjee was 2nd MV40. Kurt Read (4:36:36) was 2nd MV45, Garry Smart was 1st MV50, Alan Boone (4:41:08) was 1st MV55, Paul Sharples (5:32:51) was 1st MV60 and Tracy Elphick (5:16:10) was 2nd FV40.

Also running for the Teignbridge Trotters were: Julian Scanes (4:39:02), Travis Wood (5:12:11), Roger Hales (5:24:35 – this was his 17th DD finish), Kevin Lofts (5:32:12), Kris Ward (5:35:36), Paul Sharples Jnr (5:52:23), Nigel Barnett (5:54:36), Kirsty Bowman (6:10:21), Dermot Smyth (6:25:23), Sharon Bowman (6:26:44), Richard Keatley (6:28:38) and Christian Robinson (6:30:00) running his first ever race as a Trotter. There were 192 finishers out of a starting line up of 207.

Staging a 32-mile race across Dartmoor is almost as hard as taking part in it. Without the wonderful support of around 150 club members, as well as specialist teams from Dartmoor Radio Club and Medical Events Training Services, the race simply wouldn’t happen. This year’s event was sponsored by Dartmoor Brewery, the Road Runners Club, Sibelco and the Ilsington Country House Hotel.
Next year is the 20th anniversary of the DD and Roger Hayes announced the course, for one year only, would revert back to its original distance of 34 miles. It was shortened to 32 miles in 2002. The old distance took runners past the iconic landmark of Dartmoor Prison, before descending back through Princetown to the finish. The race was cancelled in 2001 due to the foot and mouth outbreak. Entries for the 2018 DD, which is sure to be a hugely popular race, will open later this year.


The Trotters next race is the Haytor Heller which takes place on Saturday 15th July. Entry forms can be downloaded from our website.

adam finish.jpg Adam Holland, winner of the 2017 DD
ben.jpg Ben Mukherjee on his way to 3rd overall
sally.jpg Marathon Queen, Sally Ingledew
chris.jpg Chris Robinson
boonie.jpg Boonie!
boys.jpg Kev, Jules and Allen
start.jpg Start of the race
men's team.jpg Trotters winning men's team
kris.jpg Kris Ward enjoying the rain!
nige.jpg Happy days!
skip.jpg Skippy 100 not out!